top of page

Words from the passed: Jeff Buckley


Jeff has been wanting to speak out for awhile now so we finally sat down to write up a convo he'd like to share. I refer to him as Boogs. He's been a close friend of mine since I began meeting spirits and I had a hard time calling him Jeff at first. It's my father and brother's name and I couldn't associate their energy to his until I worked through that stuff and I can call him by name now but the nickname has stuck. It began as Buckey, then I changed it to Boogie and that one stayed for a while, then i was notified by John (another close spirit) that Dr. Winston O'Boogie was his nickname so we shortened it to Boogs lol I love my boogie men!

Boogs: H!

me: 'Sup Boogy?

Boogs: I'm ready....

me: Let's start: You wanted to talk about a past life of yours and how it played into the last role you had on earth. Can you tell us who you were?

Boogs: I'd rather keep it under wraps at the moment, the readers can have fun guessing for now... *wink*

me: Can you tell us what you did?

Boogs: I was best known as a scientist in the life i'd like to refer to and how it played a part in the life it led me to.

me: I think most musicians are mad scientists.

Boogs: Precisely. Just with a new platform...one which most people will associate to frivolity when stacked up against "SCIENCE".

me: So tell us about the life before you became Jeff Buckley

Boogs: I could go on and on about how each life played a part in creating the 'next' and how each 'following' help to resolve the issues of the "past" but to keep some sort of focal point I'll stick to these two relating to science and music.

Having lived these two lives I now see that they are the same: music/sound is a science and an art but most people will accept others taking a different view based on their experience and connection when it comes to music, which isn't usually the case with science. Music is a bit more freedom in that regard - science needs proofs even though not all can truly "see" the proof or rationalize it. In my life before being Buckley i had freedom up to a point but the standards set by past generations doesnt always allow the possibilities of the evolving future to flourish in the open.

me: What do you mean "in the open"?

Boogs: There are some explanations that cannot be rationalized by the majority. They (ideas or discoveries) may be accepted and respected by those who study but if you cant break it down to the public in a nice booklet with a dust cover of yourself looking distinguished and speaking in common words then the time it takes for the idea and application to catch on and be accepted is drawn out. I could see the end result of my works but I knew I wouldnt be alive in that form to see them realized within the public to the potential that I saw. But I made definite strides with my inventions but many were just more simplified versions of what I knew I could produce with the support of a widespread understanding.

me: What proofs did you feel you fell short on?

Boogs: None. I was satisfied with my findings and was ready to move on. I would have had to live another lifetime in that form spending all of my time defending myself and that's no way to live, especially when you know it's coming to fruition whether or not the people want to accept it. I'd learned my lesson in frustration with trying to please and appease others in a life before this one so it was easy to let go when it was time.

me: What sort of science or applications did you study?

Boogs: I focused on sound/electrical currents and transmission which led me to deeper insights on energy in general. sound is merely energy condensed. Think of a fire hose on full blast, you can feel the droplets around the center force and the center force can build up enough to tear your skin off but it's all water just the same. Sound is like that and i wanted to be more intimate with that in my following life which led me to being Jeff Buckley.

me: Would you say that life inspired the Jeff Buckley life?

Boogs: It did but what is inspiration? It is the insertion of spirit.

me: Did you feel a duty to carry out the previous life within this one?

Boogs: My scientist life came with the assumption of social responsibility. I never felt indebted to society or that I owed it to the world to discover what I did. It's just what my spirit needed to do, not for the benefit of the world but for the experience of discovering it. But that's not to say that the discoveries were the end all or the point of my life, it was just a by-product of my personal exploration and underlying need to explore and "know"...feeding my own curiosity and intuition and following the breadcrumbs. The hardest part about that is keeping your eye on the bread crumbs rather than listening to the doubt around you and losing your path. This lesson was replayed in my next life as Jeff and i was able to reground and approach it in a new way and allow myself to be part of my (or the music's) audience rather than solely being a facilitator.

me: What about your scientific studies helped with your music career?

Boogs: Working with and studying so many different frequencies of energy and knowing how they apply in the physical world. You can take all of that information and translate it to a sound scale which is relative to comparing a full size plane and a model plane, you just adjust the scale. Taking the massive applications of energy and reducing them to inflections of the body as though the mind is now earth and sound is the conductor of emotion rather than motion on a large physical scale. The meter, breath, beat, pitch all play part in stimulating and activating different compartments of the psyche. My goal was to create a smooth transmission so that every evolution within myself was represented without censor, so that I may experience the essence of me rather than trying to control or produce a product to neatly dispense. Every wane brings way to a crescendo and back to stillness but with the imprint of my transmission was something intangible but undeniable (whether you "liked" it or not). It's not something you can see as with many scientific applications, not something you can measure in a cup but can be as impactfull and memorable as a being hit with a bolt of lighting. Sound is information, but not information you can see with the naked eye and we can transmit information undetected and unobstructed or altered to reach those with open receptors.

me: I think you used your previous experience wisely. You created only one album but it's one of the most cherished by lover's of music. I cant say I was a huge fan back in the day but someone had given me your album and i would only play it at work. I never remembered the songs or words but I'd notice when your album was on I'd just go into a work trance and once the album was over it was like I came out of a time warp. Having gone back to it since then I can appreciate the vulnerability and genius. I also assumed you were a homeless guy who made it big and didnt find out the true story of you having a famous musician father who also died young until I met you in spirit. I think it was your lack of people pleasing and playing into the game that made me assume you were outside of the "bubble".

Boogs: Thanks I guess... *nudge* I always wanted to play the gypsy and my ego made me a bit defiant of my familial ties and like I mentioned before, I was kinda already on that road of making this my experience. If others got something out of it that was great but it wasn't necessary for me to accomplish self satisfaction in that area (and had I had that persepctive/intention how could the audience relate in the way they did). Music exists around us like energy and we tap into it and ride the line with expression. We are the transmitters and the receivers while god or source is the conductor of the orchestra and we, on a smaller scale, are the conductors within lifetimes. But learning to tap into the essence within and trust that it is something spectacular and allow it to unfold without getting in your own way. It already exists, we just need to observe, respect and support ourselves instead of criticism based on misconceptions from others or the past.

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Google+ Clean Grey

Latest Articles

& Videos

bottom of page